PDA

View Full Version : Beef Heart

Audrey
03-11-2005, 02:39 PM
My local grocer (a large chain) ordered me in a single beef heart...It was like $1.19 a lb or something, can't remember for sure, but it was cheap.

This is my first time dealing with this. Do I just assume the heart is safe, has been kept refrigerated, etc.?

I put it in the freezer, because I didn't have time at the moment to clean and cut it. I am now thinking I shouldn't have put it in the freezer, because it will be too hard to clean and cut it now.

Do you all clean / cut up before freezing it?

Still learning.....
Audrey

funkyfish
03-11-2005, 02:57 PM
i get mine at walmart in a 5 pound bag and i clean and grind up the same day i get it then i freeze.
half froozen meat is eaier to cut up. not to sure how long it take it to spoil

Tad
03-11-2005, 02:59 PM
Audrey,
I always prepare the fresh beefheart first then freeze. However I think it would be safe to defrost, clean, trim, grind, and add your additives then refreeze with no real issues...

Also to save time, you may ask your local butcher at the grocery store to trim the heart to remove fat and vessels...Might cost a little bit more but will save you time in the long run....Im pretty lucky that I found a source of beefheart that comes sliced and trimmed. Made some the other night used my food processor and it was a snap :)

JMO,
Tad

Audrey
03-11-2005, 03:27 PM
Tad...good idea, thanks, I will ask the butcher to trim and cut next time. It would be well worth a little more money to have that done for me. Where is your source for the trimmed/cut beef heart?

Yeah, I kind of thought after I put it in the freezer, "That was dumb". :(

Funky Fish, I would have never guessed that Wal Mart carried beef heart.
Where do you live?

Tad
03-11-2005, 03:43 PM
Audrey,