PDA

View Full Version : No such thing as quarantine

lauris
05-16-2005, 04:12 PM
Rainy day here so the painting project that had me playing hooky from work is on hold. Have been reading the unfortunate experience of Duncan and the loss of his stock and the various responses that keep stressing quarantine as the key. What follows are some random musing about quarantine. I certainly do not have any answers but thought perhaps this could spark a discussion of quarantine, quarantine procedures, acclimitization, medication, what have you. I do not claim to have any particular insight, I have been keeping discus for a few years. I rarely kill them, i rarely spawn them. In my tanks the round healthy ones I have grown out are steadily outnumbering the triangular runts I grew out before. I have bought from probably six sources in four years and have 'quarantined' to one degree or another. Sometimes my quarantine procedure involves crossing the fingers on both my hands (although I have never just dumped new stock in the same tank with old), sometimes it involves as much as a month of vigilance in keeping things separate. In the interest of full disclosure, I have bought fish from Cary, Jeff, Danny Ng, and Hans and from at least three or four local breeders--everyone uniformly has provided healthy and sassy fish. Usually a period of months between major purchases. In any case....

As to quarantine: