PDA

View Full Version : moving water beneficial or not to discus?

john2gs
07-30-2005, 12:26 PM
Hello bros/sis,

I am just wondering if powerheads/spraybars are beneficial to discus?

or will this just stress them out?

With arowanas, powerheads are beneficial since they (especially babies) tend to become more active in swimming, thus metabolism increases.........and their appetite becomes bigger. They usually go against and swim towards the powerhead. In addition, their swimming form is enhanced.

I am a newbie w/ discus....and need to know your opinions.

thanks!

brewmaster15
07-30-2005, 12:30 PM
Hi John,
The spray bars probably won't harm them any, the powerheads are not necessary. Most people with discus wind up using hang on the back filters like aquaclear 500's and hydro or other air driven sponge filters. Cannisters are fine but can be risky if the power goes out! Try to get good aeration..not necessarily agitation :D

-al

ps.. welcome to SimplyDiscus and to the hobby!! :)

john2gs
07-30-2005, 12:36 PM
Hi John,
The spray bars probably won't harm them any, the powerheads are not necessary. Most people with discus wind up using hang on the back filters like aquaclear 500's and hydro or other air driven sponge filters. Cannisters are fine but can be risky if the power goes out! Try to get good aeration..not necessarily agitation :D

-al

ps.. welcome to SimplyDiscus and to the hobby!! :)

thanks for the warm welcome Al.

Actually Henry from boston, is the one who told me about this site.

Both of us are avid fans of arowanas ...and he told me about discus. Now I am also addicted to discus..hehehe!

I used to have a couple of emperor 400s....but i ended up selling them, since the back scales of my aro tend to hit the intakes most of the time...scraping the beautiful scales :(

Thats why I went with canisters......since the intakes can be positioned on the very corner of the tanks.........which will avoid any scrapings :)