PDA

View Full Version : anyone using CLORAM-x for their discus tank?

john2gs
08-09-2005, 11:10 PM
anyone using CLORAM-x for their discus tank?

feedbacks?

comments?

thanks!

RichieE
08-10-2005, 10:05 AM
Ive been useing it for about a month now at 1 teaspoon per 40 Gallons but you could certainly use more. It seems to be giving me a false positive for ammonia so make sure you use a test kit that measures free ammonia. If you buy it in bulk (Jemco has it) it's about the cheapest way to go. Rich

john2gs
08-10-2005, 10:42 AM
Ive been useing it for about a month now at 1 teaspoon per 40 Gallons but you could certainly use more. It seems to be giving me a false positive for ammonia so make sure you use a test kit that measures free ammonia. If you buy it in bulk (Jemco has it) it's about the cheapest way to go. Rich

thanks bro!

Mr. Limpet
08-10-2005, 12:10 PM
I have been using it for over 2 years now. I have used it exclusively with adults and fry and everything else. At $30 for 5 pounds, which makes the equivalent of 20 pint bottles of Amquel, which sell at the LFS for $8 to $10 each, It is very cost effective. Try it, you like it.
Paul.

Butch
08-10-2005, 12:13 PM
I tried it a couple of days. I talked to someone where it's produced, as
I was getting a brown scum line at top of aging barrel. He said to use
1/4 teaspoon per 10 gallons. I switched to that amount and continued
with the scum. I then washed out the barrels and started using Prime
with no scum now.
I have heard nothing but good about ChlorAmX. I must have something
in my tap water that come out of solution when I use it.

Bert :)

john2gs
08-10-2005, 01:38 PM
thanks for the feedbacks guys! :)

fshngal
08-10-2005, 07:33 PM
What type of water do you have? City with chloramines? or well?

Mary

john2gs
08-10-2005, 08:25 PM
What type of water do you have? City with chloramines? or well?

Mary

NYC water.....

im not sure if water is treated w/ both chlorine and chloramine......or just 1