PDA

View Full Version : Buying a backup generator

markwill
09-02-2005, 09:27 PM
I've been thinking about all the various options I'd need to consider if (when) we have a power outage. We get these pretty regularly (at least once per winter and probably twice on average - last year we had one that lasted 2 days and another for just over a day).

I am seriously considering buying a backup generator on the basis that while I would be addressing, at a stroke, the potential problems for my fish (I've spent about $600 on my fish alone in the last 3 months and around $1,000 on equipment - so this is is an investment worth protecting), I would ALSO provide for a more comfortable life for my family during these power cuts. So, it would be a pretty well leveraged purchased, as compared to addressing just the fish.

So, my question is whether anyone has any experience with buying a backup generator? I'm guessing that a natural gas generator may be the way to go but I'm somewhat new to this whole area. The Internet is my research tool :-) but I thought I'd ask here first to see what the factors to consider might be.

BTW, if possible, I'd be looking for a solution that is fully automated when power is lost - is that feasible or does that add a ton of cost?

I may be completely off-base here but would $3,000 or less be in the ballpark? I'd be happy be judicious with what equipment I'd need during a power cut (limit lights to one room, limited washing, no dishwasher, etc) but not to the extent that I make really inconvenient compromises.

Thoughts?

Mark

RandalB
09-02-2005, 10:08 PM
Check Ebay... They have those 15KW Generac's in the $2000 range from time to time...

RandalB

Greg Richardson
09-02-2005, 11:46 PM
Mark. I love Honda Generators. Mine starts up first pull almost every time.
Very quiet. I have mine about 40 ft from house and can barely hear it.
About 7 years old now.

You need an electrition.

Call ENC Electric. 206 869 7472.