PDA

View Full Version : Freeswimmers

pikashy
09-10-2005, 09:11 PM
I finally got freeswimmers. This is my first time and I'm not sure what they're supposed to do. Right now, they are all clustered in a corner with both the parents swimming off and trying to catch them and put them there. The freeswimmers then just swim off again, sometimes nibbling on the parents. How long does it take them to be consistently attached to the parents?

Also, I have a hydro-sponge, and some fry seem to be swimming toward it. I have pigeonblood discus. Is the sponge a problem?

KD
09-11-2005, 09:00 AM
I have read that you can cover the sponge filter with a white nylon stocking. They are attracted to the dark sponge. Also some people lower the water level if needed.
Good luck with your babies!
Karen

Clabbe
09-11-2005, 09:50 AM
Hi pikashy!

The sponge filter can be a problem. Since the parent can´t change to a darker coullor the fry will have some problems finding them.

I have a very lightcollored pair with fries (see pic below). I had hudge problems to get the fry to find there way to the food. I will try to explain, with my bad english:), how i did it.

When the fries got freeswiming i removed all objekts that could disturb them (All the filters, spawning cone etc.). Lower the waterlevel to 50%. Than i took a thin airhose and mounted it on a "suckingdevice" and started to suck up the lost fries (clustered in corners and spread over the whole tank) and eject them on the parents again. I repeated this for about 4 days. After 7days i slowly started to raise the waterlevel again and installed the spunge filter again.

Hope this will help you

Willie
09-11-2005, 12:25 PM