PDA

View Full Version : New to Discus

RLJSlick
10-10-2005, 02:51 PM
Hiya Guys, my name is Ricky, and I'm from the Wisconsin, just want to say hi, and that I'm very excited about the chance of enjoying discus, and being around people that also enjoy them.
I'm a long time "fish person", I've been rasing Africain Cichlids, and Angelfish for well over 20 years. I tried my hand at discus rasing discus about 8-9 years ago, with very bad results. I lived in a small apartment, and my equipment wasn't near good enough to take care of them, and my patience wasn't that good either. Now I'm a little order, a lot more wise, and I have much better equipment. So I'm gonna try this again, but I wanted to read all I could about it again, to make sure I don't make the same mistakes.
I just want to say hello, and I've been reading great stuff on here. I hope you will allow me to pick your collective brains to make sure I have a lot of success with discus. Thank you.

wolfbane
10-10-2005, 03:04 PM
Hey Ricky! Welcome! Yep, this place is a treasure chest of info. Enjoy the site, come often.

AADiscus
10-10-2005, 03:29 PM
Hi Ricky. Welcome to Simply!!! :)

You will find alot of helpful information on the site. Lots of good reading material and helpful hints.

DarkDiscus
10-10-2005, 03:32 PM
Welcome to the addiction...

Discus are most enjoyable and rewarding. If you can give them the time and care they demand, this is certainly a crossroads for you as a hobbyist.

Best of luck!

John

Carol_Roberts
10-10-2005, 04:29 PM
Hi Ricky and welcome to Simply discus :wave:
Water changes and clean, bare bottom tanks are more important than equipment!

RLJSlick
10-10-2005, 05:17 PM
Hi Ricky and welcome to Simply discus :wave:
Water changes and clean, bare bottom tanks are more important than equipment!