PDA

View Full Version : new tank for discus

sanghan47558
10-19-2005, 10:13 PM
hey guys,
i posted a couple weeks ago that i would be getting a 125 gallon tank soon. Instead, i have decided to convert my saltwater reef tank into a discus tank. My father and I have been pouring money into that tank and we feel that we are wasting money. I had asked him fro a large tank, and he had bought a 24o gal. tank, and had the tank used as a reef tank. I have been keeping freshwater fish for a couple of years, but have no experienc eiwth saltwater fish and invertebrates.
I will be swapping the lighting system, substrate, skimmer, and all the other unnecessary. After being stripped, the tank will have a substrate of eco-complete, will have strip flourescent lights and 2 atinics. I might also chang some of the plumbing. I curently have an ikawa pump feeding the tank through two rotating powerheads. for plants (i plan on a planted tank) i will be getting the package of plants they have at aqurium plant stores online. I plan on 8-9 discus about 70 cardinal tetras, 12 rumy noses, 8 blue rams, a large school of cories, a couple otocinclus, 12 glowlight tetras, and 8 Hyphessobrycon bentosi(false rose tetras). I also plan on 6-8apistogramma cacatuoides. I am under the impression( please correct me if i am wrong) that all these fish thrive i nthe same living conditions.
In the sump, I plan on using a wetdry filter, or s couple cansiter filters. ( i might use both) I would like some input and advice on my planned system. Thanks
-Sang Han

Dood Lee
10-20-2005, 03:50 AM