PDA

View Full Version : What is Grade A? How do you know?

Mughal
10-21-2005, 01:04 PM
I wanted to start a new thread about how to get a Grade A discus.

What is a grade A discus?

Second, Who sells them? In the hormone section I saw numerous times mentioned that they dont even come to the US for regular people (like me) to buy.

How do you know who has grade A discus? Is there some sort of certification?

How do the people who have them, and breeders/resalers on this site, know that theirs are grade A and unhormone treated?

How can a buyer (like me) who WILL have to mail order be confident that he or she is not getting ripped off for craptacular fish? Is there a grade for fry?

I dont' have any discus now, and the threads about hormoning and getting crappy fish are starting to bother me...I don't want the poor things to die as soon as I get them. I've owned hundreds of other types of fish and never EVER heard any mention of hormoning, bad consequences or Grade A fish. I'm a hobbyist but still want "Great Discus" is that too much to ask?

ronrca
10-21-2005, 01:22 PM
Well, there are certain standards by which discus are graded. These standards are used in fish shows like ACA as an example. Sometimes clubs and associations also have standards for grading fish (this is not only limited to discus btw).

On the other side of the coin (this is my opinion), the grade of discus is also determined by the eye of the beholder.

I dont' have any discus now, and the threads about hormoning and getting crappy fish are starting to bother me...I don't want the poor things to die as soon as I get them. I've owned hundreds of other types of fish and never EVER heard any mention of hormoning, bad consequences or Grade A fish. I'm a hobbyist but still want "Great Discus" is that too much to ask?
Well, be sure to check out some of simplydiscus sponsors. Perhaps there is one close to you. Great discus, great people! :D

Giniel
10-21-2005, 01:50 PM