PDA

View Full Version : Food Mix

ctmpwrdcamry
10-31-2005, 07:12 PM
Hello everyone,

I am just getting into discus. I have been keeping tanks for years now and i would love to get some of these fish. I know they have to be feed multiple times a day when they are smaller, but i am generally at work long before the lights come on. (i leave 7-8 and the lights come on around 10). I would think its not the best to put some beef heart or bloodworm's before the lights come on. Could i feed juvies two or three meals of flake food via an eheim feeder and one meal of blood worms or beef heart at night?

Thanks,

Sean

RyanH
11-01-2005, 01:21 PM
Hi Sean,

Lots of people do it this way and it usually works out fine for them. I keep auto feeders on all of my juvenile tanks and then feed them the good stuff when I'm home. This will also train them to associate me with the good things in life. :)

Usually your fish will be most hungry in the morning so whatever you put in there will usually not stick around too long. That said, I would still save the beefheart for evenings right before you change their water. Bloodworms should be fine.

hth
-Ryan

Moon
11-01-2005, 01:38 PM
Sean
Why not reset your timer to come on earlier so that you can feed before you leave for work. My fishroom lights come on at 7:00. I feed them flake before leave for work and beef hart when I get home at 6:00 and a bed time snack of Mysis or bloodworms at 10:00. The lights go off at 11:00. Works well for me.

ctmpwrdcamry
11-01-2005, 03:51 PM
Moon,

Generally you do not want you lights on for longer than 10-12 hours in a planted tank. I know BB is generally the way to go for discus, but it appears people have great results with planted too. I know it will be more work, and i am prepared for that, but having that long of a photo period would create havoc in the tank with algae.

Ryan,