PDA

View Full Version : A Newb with tons of questions .............

CAGE-RATTLER
11-02-2005, 05:15 AM
Well i sure am glad i found this forum :D

I've been searching around the net for all the info i can get and this definately looks like the place!

As the thread title states ............ Im a newb .......... and not just a newb at discus but also a newb taking care of fish in general!

Hopefully i wont ramble on to much .........lol .......... and jump around to much cause i really need some questions answered and some info .... ...... but i'll give you some insight on my situation.

The wife has been into fish and did all the work while i just enjoyed watching them. We had 3 small tanks of freshwater fish (1 in the living room and 2 in the kids room) and we decided to get a large tank and combine them all.

We originally started looking for a cheap used 55 setup with stand so i started watching ebay for a week or 2 to see what kind of prices they were going for and looking for something to pop up locally.

Well i looked in the paper and a guy about 30 minutes from us had a 100 gallon setup with stand, 2 discus he paid $70 a piece for, 3 rummy nose, a fluval 304 canister, an emporer 400 with bio-wheels, 2 heaters and everything else you could emagine too. And when i say everything else you could imagine .... i mean it!! He is a retiring city police officer thats moving out of state and is getting rid of everything. He said he used to do some breeding a while back and was into it big time.