PDA

View Full Version : Need an advise to keep pH low.

Tek
11-15-2005, 12:31 PM
Hi all,
I'm new in discus field. I used to keep fancy goldfish such as LionHead, Ranchu etc.. Now, i get 2 Blue diamond, 1 Red dragon and 4 Turq in 60g. i maintain the pH at 6.4 to 6.6 when goldfish in. 2 weeks ago, i sparate the goldfish and i clear the alge on back of tank. Now, i can't maintain the pH to 6.8 any more. Just want know what's common method do you guys to keep pH below 6.8 after watch change?

ronrca
11-15-2005, 12:41 PM
Welcome to simplydiscus and to the discus field. Id love to see pics of your tank and discus.

Well I age my water for my wc's so that the water going in matches the water in the tank.

Btw, here is an article on ph for discus!
http://www.simplydiscus.com/library/water_chemistry/general/ph_nochange.shtml

HTH

Tek
11-15-2005, 02:23 PM
First off, thz for reply. I do age the water, I store water in 4g bottle for 3 to 4 day before WC. But, still, pH above 7.2 Three of my discus fishs turn blown and one is hanging at corner and refused to eat. any some of small discus turn slim.

Will it cause fish not tolerate when add too many plants in?

Setup up digi cam.. Will post some photo later

White Worm
11-15-2005, 04:07 PM
I am no expert but it is not absolutely neccessary to keep your PH 6.0-6.5 unless you are considering breeding (better for fry). Discus do fine in PH up to 7.6. Consistency is the key and cleeeeaaaann water. Juveniles do better in lower 7.0 - 7.5. Peat in the filter keeps PH low but makes the water a tea brown color. PH buffer will also help to lower PH to breeder levels (info I got from a local breeder kenny). Hope that helps and anyone please let me know if I am incorrect. I have been studying most experts ideas here and I think I'm close. Mike

gators111
11-15-2005, 04:33 PM
What is the hardness Gh and Kh of your water, or better yet the TDS? This will tell you if peat will do much.

Tek
11-15-2005, 05:59 PM