PDA

View Full Version : What Do I Need to Do?

Butch
12-04-2005, 12:00 PM
Hi Everyone...Happy Holidays:antlers:

I have a pair that I don't think should be spawning. I received these
fish July 8th from Jack at KC Discus. He said they were about 2 months
old at the time. That makes these fish about 7 or so months old.
About four weeks ago they laid eggs on the AQ siphon. I did not see
them do it so I was not sure about the sexing. The eggs stayed long enough
for some to fungus, about 3 days, and then they were gone, eaten I guess.
They have just laid the 4th batch of eggs in 3.5 weeks. I have not seen the
eggs change color from a clear/tan to black or dark like they were fertilized.
I am no expert on anything but I don't see how they are old enough to be doing this.
Since the eggs don't change color, my guess is the male is not
mature as of yet. I have see them laying the eggs and the female has a short
stubby tube and the male is pointed and smaller. So I guess I really have a
male and female, I think.
Anyway...do I need to keep letting them lay eggs over and over. Isn't that
hard on both of them? Especially since they are not fertilized?
I sure would appreciate some suggestions on what I need to do. They are in
a 50gal by themselves. The ph is 7.6 and total hardness is 19.5ppm, so I
think the water is OK.
So any suggestions and help would be greatly appreciated.

Butch:)

Kenny's Discus
12-04-2005, 11:43 PM
Hi Butch - if you're not in any rush for babies I would recommend you to let them keep trying in the tank until you see wigglers. This will not only confirm their sex but also it's a very good trick to train them as good parents.