PDA

View Full Version : Gill Disease

Ronnie
12-19-2005, 04:16 PM
Hi
Im new to Discus keeping and I recently purchased 6 fish from a local hobbiest.Two were Marlboroughs and 4 are Scribbled, Red Turks both Marlboroughs developed gill problems after two weeks, one has died and the other doesnt have long to go.
The symtoms are swollen gills, errosion of the outside gill cover exposing pinkish internal gills that are fraying and breathing is laboured,The fish have separated themselves, stopped eating and hang head down.
I have treated them with Hexamita and Interpet's Anti Internal Bacterial solution to no effect.
Am I dealing with gill flukes here and if so why are the Scribbled fish not affected all fish came out of the same Hobbiest's tank.
Can anyone offer help and advice I would be very gratefull.

Cheers

Ronnie

Mack
12-19-2005, 04:30 PM
Ronnie:
Doesn't sound good...the scribbles may be a little older or "stronger," but they will probably go as well (all fish are different). Sounds like you are treating them, but we need a little more info such as tank size, water parameters, frequency of water changes, tank mates, and so forth. Some body here will be sure to help you! As far as the "head standing," the fish may be dying or have some sort of bloating problem throwing off balance.
Joe

candyl70
12-19-2005, 04:41 PM
Ronnie,
Do you have any pics? That always helps.

Had you seen any flashing, or the fish rubbing up on things?
What does their poo look like?
You might want to contact the person who sold them to you and ask him about what you are seeing and how he would go about treating them.

hth,

Candy

Ronnie
12-19-2005, 04:47 PM
Hi Joe
Thanks for your quick reply more details as follows:-
Tank size : 190 litre Jewel corner unit.
Water changes: 55 litres every 4 days (dechlorinatd).
NO3=5
NO2=0
GH=6d
KH=3-6d
pH=7
Tank Mates are 1xAngelfish, 4xCorries and 20 neons