PDA

View Full Version : two females

cobaltblue
12-23-2005, 11:03 PM
i had a spawn 3 days ago and with my unproven PB pair. This was their second spawn that i know of. Both times eggs went white first day and were eaten that same evening. Now, only
3 days later, there is another cluster of eggs on the cone. Does this mean i have two females in the tank, or is it possible for one female to lay the eggs only 3 days apart?? Both sex organs look similar to me, but im a rookie and dont know the difference. Do you guys think i have two females? I will try and post a picture of the pair. thanks.

ps..i know these guys are both stunted and not pretty, but hey, they were my first discus.

cobaltblue
12-24-2005, 02:49 AM
Anybody?

Kenny's Discus
12-24-2005, 03:07 AM
Chris - it's fairly difficult to tell their sex just by looking at your pic, eventhough they do look like 2 females. By observing who lays/fertilizes & their breeding tubes(short, pointy V.S. long, blunt) during spawning are always the most reliable way.

I did have pairs in the past that have laid eggs 4 days apart and they were very young pairs. Hope this helps.

Kenny
http://forum.simplydiscus.com//showthread.php?t=45861

cobaltblue
12-24-2005, 03:13 AM
Thanks Kenny. They are very young pairs. Probably just over a year old. It looks to me like both have a short pointy thing. I will have to try and observe them better. Thanks.

flyfishfordiscus
12-24-2005, 10:28 AM
"it's fairly difficult to tell their sex just by looking at your pic, eventhough they do look like 2 females."

Just curious what you're basing your assumption on. What makes these two fish look like females in your opinion?

Kenny's Discus
12-24-2005, 12:22 PM
Hi flyfishfordiscus - as you've said it was just an ASSUMPTION. The overall look/shape/feel of the fishes looked like females to me. But again I could totally be wrong and best way to sex them are using the above mentioned method.