PDA

View Full Version : Discus Eating Plants

Neutbar
01-17-2006, 10:22 PM
Hi, I am new to the SimplyDiscus forum. First off, I think this is by far the best, most caring group of people I have ever seen. The amount of information and solid advice being given is staggering.
I have a question relating to some new discus I purchased from a local fish store. They appeared to have slimy white feces when I got them home. It took about a week to get some Metro as I couldn't source it locally. Before treating the tank the 2 discus were not eating any of the frozen blood worms or flake or discus pellets I fed them. They did however strip the leaves from a hygrophylia polysperma plant I had in the aquarium. I added more of the same plant and they continue to feed on it while mostly ignoring the other feed I offer to them.
Should I go ahead and medicate them with the Metro? They appear to now have a green coloured feces (I assume from the leaves they are eating). Should I remove the plant to see if they will eat more of the other foods?
I have them in a 20 gal tank with a sponge filter and an aqua clear filter, at 86 degrees, 20 to 25 % wc per day. The water is conditioned overnight, heated to the tank temp. The water is moderately hard, pH 7.9, nitrite at 0.3 mg/L and ammonia at 0.6 mg/L or less.

White Worm
01-17-2006, 11:49 PM