PDA

View Full Version : What About Earthquakes??

MrD
01-31-2006, 09:40 PM
Hey folks. Obviously, I'm new to this game. I have been formulating a plan for an aquarium for a long time now and I finally decided that the only way for me to go is with a discus tank, preferably Amazon Blackwater Biotope. So I keep gathering more and more information and still there is this little thing in the back of my mind that bothers me: I live in Southern California and so do fairly big earthquakes! In the past, the distant past, I have had friends who had aquariums when along came an earthquake that destroyed the tank and, in one case with a friend of mine who had a really big tank, caused thousands of dollars in damage to his humble abode!! Now, most of you will understand when I say that I am married. I love my wife. My wife loves our humble abode. So what do I do? I can't get rid of my wife! (Can I??). Of course not! All kidding aside, is there anything any of you can think of that will solve my problem? Would a tank that is 1/2 terrerium (sp???) and 1/2 aquarium work? So as to limit the amount of water that can splash out? I understand that under certain circumstances the right quake will make fish meal (sorry) out of any tank anyway. I'm just trying to come up with something that would minimize the damage by avoiding a complete spill. I really, really want a tank full of beautiful discus's. I'm getting old over here so I can't waste too much more time. I also can't afford to face the repercussions of 50 gallons of water all over any room in my house and I don't have a basement. Please forgive my rambling. Turnin' it all over to you, now.:confused:

White Worm
01-31-2006, 10:20 PM