PDA

View Full Version : Oh man...I killed 2 discus in a matter of 3 days :-(

Ginoinchicago
02-01-2006, 01:21 AM
I am new to discus. This is my first post. I bought five discus at a local fish auction, and put them in an empty 75 with 2 sponge filters and a Hot magnum with Bio-wheel. The tank was fishless cycled. Water parameters are as follows:
ph:7.5
GH:10
KH:5
TDS:250
Ammonia:0
Nitrates:0
Nitrites:0
Temp:84 F
I added the five Discus: a PB, 2 Blues and 2 San Merahs. After 24 hours I tried to feed them some beefheart. Since the tank was dark, and I wanted to not stress them out anymore than they already were, I left the room and didn't watch to see if they had actually eaten it. Next morning, the water was fowled and obviously they didn't eat.

Here was my second mistake... I removed the uneaten food, vacuumed the bottom and did a 60% water change STRAIGHT FROM THE TAP. I didn't have any aged water ready and didn't think about it because I never had problems with angels before doing this. I also double dosed with Prime just to be safe. Afterwards the two blues starting listing and rolling head over tail in the tank and they passed about 8 hours later... The PB and the San Merahs are looking ok, but once I realized what happened, I quickly added some peroxide to oxygenate the water a bit. I have been successful in breeding angels, rams and various types of cories, so I thought I knew all I needed to know about fish in general...boy was I wrong. This has turned into a very expensive mistake, and I really liked those blues.

I have been trying to post on here since Sunday, but hadn't been registered by the admin yet, so I had been reading as much as I possibly could during that time. I am sure I will have many more questions in the future, and I hope I can avoid any more costly mistakes like this one by learning from you folks.

Thanks for reading my sob story and any and all tips are welcome!

Tek
02-01-2006, 01:41 AM