PDA

View Full Version : Discus first aid kit for the begginners

Ayk
02-05-2006, 10:31 AM
Hi everybody,
I am new to discus though I have been keeping fish since I was a kid. I never have needed to understand the fish I kept, and had only few basic medicine. Can somebody briefly give a list of most important things to keep handy?

Also, I live in Toronto, ON and would like to know where the hobbiest and breeders buy their medicine from (except importing)?

I will post the same thread in disease section as well (I hope it is ok.)
Thanks
Ayk

Timbo
02-05-2006, 11:05 AM
best to have one post per query..it makes it easier for people to follow along and help rather than have to refer to two posts to see whats happening.

hexed
02-05-2006, 02:39 PM
BigAlsOnline.com has a buildings in Canada and another one in the US. Most people here get stuff from them.
Sorry, I forgot the list LOL! This is what I have on hand right now:
Furan 2
Formalin 37%
Aquarium salt or NON iodized salt
Metronidazole
Epson salt
Maracyn-two
Clout
What I will be purchasing:
PraziPond powder (Sorry but PraziPro has not had good results as per the thread here)
Amoxicillin - I cannot get Kanacyn here and my pharmacist said to try it.

Now, most of the meds I have I have used once maybe with the exception being: Epson salt, Aquarium salt, Formalin (used on eggs) and Clout.
Frank

Carol_Roberts
02-05-2006, 09:18 PM
Epsom Salt - for bloat and constipation
Rock salt (or kosher salt, pickling salt, etc) - general tonic
Metronidazole - intestinal flagellates
Parasite Clear (or fluke tabs) - fluke, external parasites, tapeworm
Formalin - external parasite, external antibiotic
Furan II, external and internal bacterial infection

KIWI13
02-06-2006, 04:31 AM
My medicine chest is simple...

Epsom Salt
Table Salt ( non iodized)
Melafix
Metro
Fungus stop

JMArtist
02-06-2006, 08:31 AM
I agree with what Carol listed as a good First Aid Kit to have on hand at all times