PDA

View Full Version : Plants growing OUT of a Discus tank?

CAGE-RATTLER
02-13-2006, 01:27 PM
I've heard that plants will remove some nitrates from the water and i believe in some of Carols tanks she has some philadendrums (sp?) growing out of her tanks with just the roots in the water and the plants hanging out of the tank.

Im assuming since they are feeding from inside the tank it too will also help remove nitrates?

Im just wondering what other types of plants you can do that with?

If i attempt to try to just put some clippings from some house plants in the tank can any of the house plants hurt the fish?

Also since the plants use the nitrates for fertiliser ........... do they also add anything to the water?

Yes im a plant newbie ........ lol.

Just trying to see if having plants in the tank this way will help remove nitrates and since they arent on the bottom of the tank .... it will still be easy to clean the bottom without having to move pots around..

CAGE-RATTLER
02-13-2006, 01:56 PM
Just found this link in the archives with some good info but even more would be better of course.

http://forum.simplydiscus.com//showthread.php?t=25623

I have some plants in pots here but have no clue what they are. The only thing i do know is they are tough to kill ...... lol .;...... as my fiancee hasnt been able to kill these yet .... lol. I dont even think she ever waters them.

Im just leary about trying them in the tank ........... cause i have no idea if they could harm the fish.

Dood Lee
02-13-2006, 05:55 PM
If they aren't true aquatic plants, they will die when submerged. True aquatic plants will take in nitrates from the water column. I'm not sure about those philadendrums plants that other people use since I prefer real aquatic plants.

pcsb23
02-13-2006, 06:24 PM