View Full Version : White Sand

MDG
03-03-2006, 12:04 AM
Hi! Kelly & Dennis referred me to this site - which I met at the Raleigh fish workshops. Picked up my first discus there. I'm new to keeping Discus but not to the fish hobby.

I've been reading around for the last few days and have seen that Discus seem to get brighter when they are in a light colored environment - some have used what they are calling white sand.

In the past I've used pool filter sand that is light in color but not quite a pure white. Is there a sand that is pure white?

cobaltblue
03-03-2006, 02:02 AM
I use silica sand, which is almost a pure white, but off slightly. Looks great IMO.

MDG
03-03-2006, 02:29 AM
Where did you find the silica sand? Is there an online supplier?

cobaltblue
03-03-2006, 02:44 AM
i actually got mine from a my local fish store. Cant remember the company, but it wasnt one that i recognized. It wasnt an actual aquarium sand like seachem or coral sea.

Kindredspirit
03-03-2006, 08:42 AM
Welcome to Simply!! I just added sand too! Huh Chris??? lol!!! I use Dolemite and it is snow white!! I love it too ~

I have some posts re the sand !:angel:

Doug A
03-03-2006, 08:52 AM
Marie,

If you are using Dolomite sand, you might want to watch your ph, GH, and KH very closely.

Kindredspirit
03-03-2006, 08:59 AM
oh OOPS!-tums Doug ~ no ~

Now I asked about that at this lfs ~ they are so nice ~ have been in business like 27 years, Mom and Pop type ~ They said that this sand is the best... i know i know.....of course they want returning customers and they are not gonna say: "marie this sand sux" ~

Douggggggggggggggg! I will test today....something you would see right away or gradually? Or........if not soon, then never??? Please?? lol!

http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/39/39_5_4.gif

Edited to remove profanity...

Doug A
03-03-2006, 09:31 AM
Marie,