PDA

View Full Version : WCs from the tap

DiscusBob
03-23-2006, 02:38 AM
While not popular, I've been doing my wc's from the tap for the past 4 years, but I have newer BB and have had some nitrite problems recently.

Is it posssible that a wc from the tap (with Amquel or Prime added to the tank as the water goes in) could kill the bacteria in a filter (eHeim, AC) before the 'instant' de-chlorination/de-chloraminization occurs?

Could the chlorine instatly kill large amounts of bacteria in filter media the second it comes in contact with chlorinated tap water?

I've been doing it this way with no ill effects in my 125 planted, but I'm wondering if the tap water (instantly treated) could be wreaking havoc on my established bacterial colonies?

DiscusBob
03-23-2006, 04:55 AM
SOMETHING'S going on, and I haven't a clue what....Nitrite's are spiking....went from .05. to 1.0 because of a water change......so 6 hours later, I did another water change...(75%)...that pushed the nitites up to 3.0.

Obvious answer is there is nitrite/ammonia in the tap water, right? Nope...zeros accross the board. The more ammonia/nitrite free water I add to the tank, the higher the nitrites go.

All this started this morning with a nitrite count of zero...all I did was a regular water change like I always do and now it's out of control. Needless to say, all fish are on surface gulping air.

Big changes at the water plant? Nope. pH change from tap? Nope.

Did adding tap water to tank that had chlorine/chloramine in for half a second destroy ALL bacetia life in very well established eHeim 2217 and 2 Aquaclear 500s? Maybe. That's why I ask....strange that it would happen now and never in the last 4-8 years.