PDA

View Full Version : questions on 2 new juvies

drivel111
03-27-2006, 08:46 PM
Hello everyone! I am brand new to simply discus and somewhat new to discus in general. I had a panda discus for about a year and a half that mysteriously died along with all but one of my fish.(a colombian tetra thats still going strong.) I think there may have been a parasite introduced via live bloodworms, but not sure.
That was about 6 mos. ago and I have since taken all gravel out and replaced it with flourite substrate. I have a 29 gal. tank and added lots of live plants and new fish-2 cory cats, 4 glass cats, 3 neon tetras, 1 albino bushynose pleco, and 2 otocynclis. all fish are pretty small and were added over a period of 6 mos. or so.
My filter is a HOB (aquaclear 50) with sponge, carbon, and biobag. I have an airstone for aeration and the temp is at 82. water ph is at 7. ammonia, nitrates, and nitrites were good last time i had a test 2 weeks ago. I feed a combo of tetra color flakes and frozen bloodworms. I do weekly water changes of 25%.
Now, I added the discus prior to finding this wonderful site so I did not quarantine as I have seen is a huge reccomendation. I've had them about a week.
The discus are juvies and about 2 1/2in. diameter. the Lfs thinks one is a turquoise? and the other not sure, since theyre juvies and color is not showing too much yet. They hide a lot(especially when I'm in front of tank) and they dont go for the food right as I drop it in. they barely peck at it off the ground even when I'm away from tank. One gets very dark a lot. he hangs out at back bottom of tank behind plants a lot too. even when swimming around he's still pretty dark but I have seen him also when he looks normal and not so dark.
I have seen a couple of white spots on them, but theyre very tiny and I'm thinking it might be ich. I would like to try to treat with temp.raise and salt, but I not sure how high temp should be, how much salt, etc. Maybe thats not even a good idea.