PDA

View Full Version : is it possible to shut down the darkness of the discus?

AniMallh2You
03-28-2006, 11:19 PM
I am new to discus, i am wondering if we can erase the darkness of the discus? i come from NYC, and i have visit many of the fish store, most of them do not take care of discus well, and most of their discus look dark, therefore i would like to know if it is possible to shut down the darkness of the discus by giving them better water condition and care! also i dont know why my discus go dark sometime(showing the sick side) and go original light color sometime(showing the healthy side)

also can anyone tell me how can i feed the discus with dry worm, i mean i try give them dry worm, but the worm stay on the top of the water, my discus never come up and eat them, right now, all of them are eating Tetra-fish's ColorBits! i am thinking to give them some shrimp sometime next week!

BY THE WAY, ANYWHERE NEAR NYC HAD NICE DISCUS???

Doug A
03-28-2006, 11:37 PM
You could try soaking the dry worms (I'm assuming you mean freeze dried blood worms) for awhile before feeding them to your fish. This should help them to sink. Something I have done in the past is after soaking them in a cup of water I would squeeze them against the side of the cup to press the air out of them. You should try feeding them frozen blood worms instead of the freeze dried.

As far as the darkness goes. I really can't help you with that. I would stay away from discus at the fish store.

hth,

AniMallh2You
03-28-2006, 11:47 PM
You could try soaking the dry worms (I'm assuming you mean freeze dried blood worms) for awhile before feeding them to your fish. This should help them to sink. Something I have done in the past is after soaking them in a cup of water I would squeeze them against the side of the cup to press the air out of them. You should try feeding them frozen blood worms instead of the freeze dried.