View Full Version : Help please...inflammed gills

Dis-moi pourquoi
05-08-2006, 08:24 PM
Tank parameters: 72 gallon five discus sub adult and adult
0 ammonia 0 nitrite
temp 83.5
ph 7

water changes dailly 25% and 50% on sunday
I have one discus that has inflammed gills on one side - the gill plate is not closing all the way - no one else is affected at this point

I have added 2 tbsp of salt per 10 gallons
I have also added Coppersafe at 1 tsp per 4 gallons which works out to 18 teaspoons

Should I treat with an antibiotic as well? I'm not sure if it is parasitic or bacterial at this point but this seemed to come out of nowhere - though looking back this fish did seem to breath more rapidly than the others.

I have not added any new fish to the tank - they all came together from the same place and were added at the same time to the tank.

Please help - I am a total newbie at this and don't want to kill my fish. :( : (

Dis-moi pourquoi
05-08-2006, 08:56 PM
Anyone??? Please...... :(

chompy
05-08-2006, 09:04 PM
Are your fish rubbing agaist things or do they extra mucus? I might try a salt bath until the discus rolls. You should also get some prazi, that would help. Where in Nova Scotia do you live?

Dis-moi pourquoi
05-08-2006, 09:13 PM
No rubbing that I've seen and no to the extra mucus. I have some prazipro here but I've never used it. I'm in the Annapolis Valley.

chompy
05-08-2006, 09:16 PM
Try and get it in powder form, antibiotics are always better in powder form. What kind of discus do you have, where did you get them?

Dis-moi pourquoi
05-08-2006, 09:20 PM
All red turqs all from the same place at the same time- a hobby breeder that decided he'd had enough. Have been healthy up till now - had them for 2 months.

Prazi isn't an antibiotic is it??

Dis-moi pourquoi
05-09-2006, 05:32 AM