View Full Version : possible gill flukes

merk175
05-09-2006, 07:18 PM
my fish are only opening 1 gill plate. the other side stays shut. They seem to be eating ok although the feces is stringy. I'm new to discus and struggling. How do I know if it is gill flukes? thanks

poconogal
05-11-2006, 12:20 PM
my fish are only opening 1 gill plate. the other side stays shut. They seem to be eating ok although the feces is stringy. I'm new to discus and struggling. How do I know if it is gill flukes? thanks
Hi. Opening only 1 gill can be a sign of gill flukes. Stringy feces, especially white, can be a sign of internal parasites. Is your tank fully cycled? I've used Prazi Pro by Hikari for gill flukes, on Discus breathing with only one gill. Worked very well, is gentle and doesn't affect bio filter. I've also been told about Jungle's Parasite Clear, which can be used to treat internal and external parasites. Jungle says it won't harm bio filter, and there's no need to raise tank temp either.

pcsb23
05-11-2006, 12:40 PM

The only sure way t to take a scrape and examine it under a microscope. Most people don't have this option though.

Are they flicking or rubbing against items in the tanK?

Also it helps us to help you if you can post the basic water parasm, like temp, ammonia, nitrite nitrate and ph, as well as size and w/c routine.

merk175
05-11-2006, 05:14 PM
thanks for the reply. water parameters are as follow: