PDA

View Full Version : Added Meth. Blue

stiver james
05-22-2006, 09:09 PM
My last few times my pair laid eggs they turned white and got fungus. I just added meth. blue to the tank tonight after a fresh spawn. I added 1 teaspoon per 10gal of water . I have them in a 29gal tank. I added three teaspoons. I hope I am doing this correctly. It turned my water a dark blue. Is this normal? Will it destroy my biological filter? These are a few questions I have about this. It has made me nervous. How long do I leave the meth. blue in there and how do I get it all out? After I am finished do I clean my sponge filters real good? I also have a eco system that I used on my marine tank filtering the discus tank also. Do I break this down and clean it too? Please give me some advise as I have never done this before. Thanks, Jim

greyhoundfan
05-22-2006, 10:14 PM
Andrew from Green Country Discus does the same thing. I don't know what his regiment is and it does turn his water blue.. I'm sure he'll chime in on this.

discusdave
05-23-2006, 12:37 AM
I have a pair of wild browns that spawn regularly but eat the eggs or the eggs always fungused. I bought some methyl blue the last time they spawned and they actually have about 10 free swimming fry right now. The dose was 1 drop per gallon but 1/2 strength for eggs, so I added 15 drops to a 30 gallon tank, a lot less than you did.

I don't know if the MB triggered a change in their parenting behavior or if it was just coincidence? Interesting either way though.

Pat
05-23-2006, 01:49 PM
My best luck has always with mb But I do it a little different I use a syringe with 2cc of mb and put it right on the eggs so they turn blue. the trick is to coat the eggs with it. This has never failed me yet and it does not over do the tank. Then I will do normal water changes after 24 hours Pat

Alight
05-23-2006, 02:02 PM