PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Mistake Please Help Asap.

jdh21cali
06-06-2006, 12:27 PM
I am new to Discus keeping and have made a few mistakes. The first mistake I made was buying Discus from a LFS; I fixed that by returning the fish to the LFS and buying from a local breeder. Now the second mistake I made was to put about 75lbs of sand in my 55 gallon tank. I would like to remove the sand with out messing up the bio filtration.
Should I keep some sand in a stocking?
Should I only remove half now, and half latter?
Can my 5 3" discus live in a 10 gallon tank for a few hours while I am removing the sand?
Will this stress my fish out?
All comments welcome.
Thanks in advance

jdh21cali
06-06-2006, 12:29 PM
I am new to Discus keeping and have made a few mistakes. The first mistake I made was buying Discus from a LFS; I fixed that by returning the fish to the LFS and buying from a local breeder. Now the second mistake I made was to put about 75lbs of sand in my 55 gallon tank. I would like to remove the sand with out messing up the bio filtration.
Should I keep some sand in a stocking?
Should I only remove half now, and half latter?
Can my 5 3" discus live in a 10 gallon tank for a few hours while I am removing the sand?
Will this stress my fish out?
All comments welcome.
Thanks in advance

nacra99
06-06-2006, 12:49 PM
I assume that your tank would be just recently cycled?? Others might have a different opinion, but unless you are confident that your filter can handle the bioload, I am inclined to take the conservative approach.

I would slowly remove a little sand at a time over the next week or so, while continuing to do daily water changes. Remember to test daily (or even better twice daily) for ammonia and nitrites. The moment the test kit picks up either, stop removing sand and do a waterchange. Resume removing the sand when you don't get any ammonia and nitrite readings until all the sand is gone.