PDA

View Full Version : New Discus

jdh21cali
06-09-2006, 12:46 AM
Here are some of my new fish. Photo taken in sellers tank.
What do you guys think? Please Grade.
All coments welcome
Thanks

jdh21cali
06-09-2006, 12:47 AM
1 more

bennyblanco
06-09-2006, 01:01 AM
WHAT DO YOU THINK?
THATS WHAT COUNTS!!

jdh21cali
06-09-2006, 01:24 AM
I know, I just would like to know what other people think. I am new to Discus keeping.
The person I bought these from said they are Red spotted Green Discus.
Is that correct?
Thanks

Tony_S
06-09-2006, 03:57 AM
Is that correct?

The name Red Spotted Green in its true origin, referes to a type of wild green discus. That discus isnt a wild type, its a domestic 'leopard' type discus.

As for a grade....not the greatest pictures. But, from what I can see possibly a B+

Tony

lhforbes12
06-09-2006, 06:12 AM
JDH,
I would have to agree with Tony, pretty much with everything he said. At first I was inclined to slightly bump them up to an A-, but in looking at them for a minute, they both have slightly beaky mouths and slightly weak chins. The top one seems to have a very nice forehead and very nice dorsal and anal fins, and the transitition from forehead to dorsal is almost perfect. I really can't see the bottom one well enough. So I am more inclined to lower it to a B. I also agree with Benny that it's what you think that really counts. Also these are among my favorite strains and I would love to have them in my tanks, very nice fish all in all.

Larry

poconogal
06-09-2006, 07:38 AM
I know, I just would like to know what other people think. I am new to Discus keeping.
Is that correct?
Thanks

Regardless of slightly weak chins or beaky mouths, I think they look beautiful - I love their color/pattern and shape and I think you did very well, being new to Discus. Enjoy them!
Connie

Carol_Roberts
06-09-2006, 01:44 PM
Look healthy with pretty pattern and color :)

Bainbridge Mike
06-09-2006, 03:02 PM