PDA

View Full Version : feeding parents question

evil_elmo
08-01-2006, 05:01 AM
Hi

i've got couple of quick questions about breeding discus...

once the parents have layed the eggs do you still feed the parents? or do i wait until the frys start eating off the parent then feed the parents?

also my problem at the moment is my pair laid the eggs and fanned them for a day but then slowly ate all the eggs...i am thinking it's because i disturbed them too much as i have other tanks in the same room and i am in there 3-4 times a day feeding the other tanks...should i cover the tank for 3 days until the eggs hatch?

Thanks
Phil

diamond_discus
08-01-2006, 10:30 AM
I am not an expert but here's what happened to my young pair :

First time they lay eggs in a community tank. After they lay eggs, I removed all other fishes and left them alone .. but yet, they still ate all the eggs.

Then I placed them alone in a 40 gallons tank. One week later, they lay eggs again. This time, they didn't eat the eggs. Both parents were guarding and caring the eggs. I continue to feed them frozen bloom worms twice a day. I have heavy traffic around the tank, as all my family members are all excited and interested to monitor the hatch process. I also do a daily water change (just enough to remove the bottom debris). I didn't cover the tank.

One note : you must add methelene blue to prevent fungus. This works for the first 4 days. But on the 5th days, I start having fungus on the white (dead eggs). I expected the parents to remove those but they didn't. Now my wrigglers are hanging on top of those fungus ..

AADiscus
08-01-2006, 12:00 PM