PDA

View Full Version : Cloudy water with water changes

mmorris
08-05-2006, 11:19 AM
Hi all,
I'm new to discus but not new to fish. I do 50 percent water changes every other day on a 55 gal. tank with six 3-4 in. discus. Within an hour the water becomes cloudy, really obvious when viewed end-to-end, but clears up entirely by the following morning. I assume there is a bacteria bloom but I don't know what to do about it or if it is harmful. The water perimeters are the same whether cloudy or not:
ph: 6.8
ammonia-0
nitrite- 0
nitrate- 5-7
temp.- 86
filters: penguin 110 biowheel without biowheel (yardsale find!) and Whisper 40 power filter. Both were cycled when I set up this tank.
There is a thin layer of gravel on the bottom, which I hoover each time.
The water is from the tap, is adjusted carefully for temp. and treated with Jungle Start Right. I also lower the ph from 7.0 with Wardley's sodium biphosphate. I don't have a place to store that much water for 24 hours.
I have tried 25 percent wc daily for two days and no change, and I tried once to change the water without hoovering and again, no change. Any and all advice would be appreciated! Martha

billeagan
08-05-2006, 05:40 PM
If you water is cloudy with in an hour of changing water and clear by the morning I doubt its a bacteria bloom.

What kind of water do you have? (lake, well?)

lhforbes12
08-05-2006, 06:43 PM
The water is from the tap, is adjusted carefully for temp. and treated with Jungle Start Right. I also lower the ph from 7.0 with Wardley's sodium biphosphate. I don't have a place to store that much water for 24 hours.