PDA

View Full Version : books

discusIA
08-17-2006, 03:01 PM
I am a newbie. What books on discus do you recommend? Are there any books which show all of the varieties discussed on this forum?

Thanks for your input.

ShinShin
08-17-2006, 04:42 PM
In spite of what you might hear to the contrary, everyone ought to have at least several good discus books on hand, as well as a book or two on disease. There are many books available, some with good "how to" info, and some that are more like coffee table books.

I've only started it, but Heiko's book looks very promising. Yeng's 2nd edition of Penang Discus is good, as is **** Au's Back to Nature Discus book. The late Jim Quarles has two good books released. Jack Wattley's "Discus for the Perfectionist" offers many breeder's responses to a series of questions posed by the author. Mayland's "Adventures with Discus" is informative. There are several Asian books besides Yeng's that are very good. Soh's Naked Truth is just one of them.

I subscribe to the line of thinking that everyone ought to have read at least two good discus books even before they buy discus and not rely on forum folks to raise their discus for them.

Mat

LizStreithorst
08-17-2006, 05:17 PM
In spite of what you might hear to the contrary, everyone ought to have at least several good discus books on hand, as well as a book or two on disease. There are many books available, some with good "how to" info, and some that are more like coffee table books.

I've only started it, but Heiko's book looks very promising. Yeng's 2nd edition of Penang Discus is good, as is **** Au's Back to Nature Discus book. The late Jim Quarles has two good books released. Jack Wattley's "Discus for the Perfectionist" offers many breeder's responses to a series of questions posed by the author. Mayland's "Adventures with Discus" is informative. There are several Asian books besides Yeng's that are very good. Soh's Naked Truth is just one of them.