PDA

View Full Version : New to discus, need answers

Veteric
08-17-2006, 05:08 PM
Hey all,
I've been keeping fish for a few years, I'm just getting into discus now, and I'm running into typical problems before I even get the fish. For one, I'm going nuts with water quality issues. Everyone likes to term things as to "water changes by x percent per week/day" but what I want to know is whether there's realy more to it than a nitrate requirement beyond "keeping it below 20ppm" as I've read in so many places. I guess I get tired of hearing from a bunch of sources on one side saying i can get away with 20% weekly changes and another talking about 50%+ daily changes even when not breeding. I'm going to be running a heavily planted tank as well, with UV sterilization, and I plan on leaving the substrate bare up front for feeding purposes.

AADiscus
08-17-2006, 08:40 PM
If you are going to start out with a heavily planted tank, start out with 4" plus fish and still do all the wc's you can. I would stay away from buying juvies if you are going to have a planted tank, due to there requirement for lots of feeding and large daily wc's to keep there tank clean. The minimum temp the discus needs to be at is 82. So make sure your plants can stand the higher temps for optimal growth.

swinters66
08-17-2006, 10:00 PM
Hi AA...