PDA

View Full Version : Confusion regarding UV sterilizers

triazole
08-18-2006, 02:34 PM
Hi all,
i have been keeping freshwater fish for about 2 years, and finally feel ready to keep discus. i haven't encountered a fish so enchanting. However (there's always a catch), i also haven't encountered so much conflicting information on a single species of fish!
anyways, i wanted to buy a UV sterilizer just to lend me a hand in this perilous (:D) task. i have been looking at the gamma 8W sterilizer for a 55g tank. it mentions a max flow rate of 600gph for parasite control, and 1100gph for bacteria control. from what i have gathered so far, any flow rate below 600gph would be enogh to zap both parasites and bacteria out of my tank. so i'm about to select a XP3 (max 300gph turnover) filter for the tank.
please let me know if i'm making any mistake.
Thanks.

dandestroy
08-19-2006, 10:44 AM
Not ite sure that I'm understandind what you're asking to "unconfused " you but lets try.

Longer the water and its content is exposed to the UV, the more its going to be sterelized.

so yes a s filter output samller than waht you're Uv is asking is just better.

but again your filter should in average change your total water content 4 times per hours.

Some people don'T put their Uv system on the filter line, but instead buy a water pump dedicated for the uv system only

triazole
08-19-2006, 11:04 AM
thanks dandestroy...i just needed some confirmation about my line of thinking.

Dissident
08-19-2006, 11:55 AM
Your logic is fine.
Something to consider too, the XP3 is rated 300gph without media in it.
If you are getting a UV that will slow the flow of water. You might want to consider a 2nd filter for the tank. It doesn't have to be anything big. On my 65gal I found an XP3 and a jebo 828 did a good job. The Jebo 828 only ran me $40USD on ebay and I am glad I added it to the tank.

What type of tank is this going to be? BB/planted/substrate? Do you plan on doing daily WC on the tank?