PDA

View Full Version : Selecting Discus

Go For It
09-02-2006, 10:04 PM
Okay... so a little over a year ago, my Dad purchased me a brand new 60 gallon tank for my room. I have been anxiously wanting one so I would finally be able to keep Discus. Well, I'm in Southern California and there is practically no breeders out here. I found one called "DiscusFarm" but the owner, Jeff, said that he will not have any Discus for quite some time. Since then, I have set-up my tank with gravel and decor and my Dad has "surprised" me with a few fish (3 rummy-nose tetras, a pair of kihlis, a bushy-nose pleco, a spotted fish that I have no knowledge of its kind, and one very stunted, unhealthy Discus who is in an Eclipse 12 by itself). The majority of these fish (including the decor) were small "surprises" here and there from my parents (they are pretty unkowledgeable when it comes to fish). Well, recently, I came accross a distributor of Jack-Wattley Discus who is located about an hour and a half from me. I'm very excited because I have always wanted to keep Discus, but before I jump into it, I wanted to hear what you guys thought of my situation and give advice as what you think would be the smartest thing would be for me to do, whether it comes down to keeping Discus or not.

Well to begin with... my tank has gravel, decor, and some fish. What should I do about that? How big of an issue is it?

Secondly, I run a pretty hectic lifestyle between schooling (...I just turned 18) and my part-time hobby as an actor/model. I am home-schooled, so I do have time to care for the aqaurium, but I'm not sure I would be able to handle Juvies since I know they require much more attention than do adults. Although adults are more expensive, I think they'd be my best bet. The distributor says most his Discus are 2.5 in but a few are 3.5-4 in. Are those adults? Would I be able to purchase them and just add them into the already decorated and established tank? What be your advice on this?