PDA

View Full Version : Stocking Level"

bigfish
09-19-2006, 11:23 AM
Hi Folks,
While since i have posted , but would like to ask a question ..( Its one of the more commonly asked how many Discus can i add!! Well i keep 16 Adults in a 90Gal Tank , Two Large filters in there 1 Eheim external, and 1 Juwel internal
plus UV and do 25% water changes every two days , fish are thriving and healthy. Have kept discus for 6 years........no expert ( yes and learning all the time) but guess you could say i have some experience!! would anyone agree you can keep more fish than ( 10 gal per fish rule) ...got to say i would not recommend anyone just starting out with discus to go adding large numbers of fish in one go!! Reason i ask does anyone keep more than this in
a 90 Gal ( within reason of course) have heard of up to 25 Adults on one of the uk Forums.
Regards
Ben.

CAGE-RATTLER
09-19-2006, 12:18 PM
With 16 adults in a 90 and 25% WC's every other day ............ what is your nitrate readings BEFORE a WC? and after?

And what size are the adults?

Just curious cause thats alot of fish for that small of WC's

Squiggy
09-19-2006, 12:54 PM
I agree with Cage...25% every other seems a bit too light. I don't have a problem with the every other day routine, but I believe in large wc's....Otherwise the nitrates just keep climbing the ladder. Can you tell us whats happening with your nitrates? I'm curious...

Joe

aquaticplantman
09-19-2006, 01:39 PM
If all the discus are already adults and hence you're not pumping them full of food and the temperature is a little lower (80-82 F), then I don't think 16 in a 90 gallon tank is outrageous. You don't have room for much else though either.