PDA

View Full Version : SOFT WATER = SLOW GROWTH

Elite Aquaria
10-29-2006, 10:12 AM
In most cases this would not be a delema. I have very soft tap water :D or is it :(. Although soft water is great for breeding it is not good for raising young discus fry to adulthood.

My tap water is around 120 uS which is about 80 ppm. Great I do not need an RO Unit. However, I am currently focusing on obtaining new stock for my breeding program. So the focus is not on breeding at this time but rather grow out.

Until I finish my well I need to add some trace elements back into my tap water. The problem is that in the past I have always just added tap water back into my RO water to reconstitute my RO water. So I have no experience using any of these chemicals.

I have done some research on the following products:

Sera Mineral Salts
Seachems Equalibrium
Kent RO Right (seems like Kent Trace Elements must be used in addition)
Kent Trace Elements

My question is which one would yeild the best results if my goal is to maximize growth on my young fry.

Dan

lhforbes12
10-29-2006, 11:54 AM
You need "tap water" and "none" choices.

Elite Aquaria
10-29-2006, 12:01 PM
You need "tap water" and "none" choices.

lhforbes12,

Thanks for the reply but I do not think you read my post. The issue is that my tap water is too soft...

Dan

Graham
10-29-2006, 12:31 PM
Dan I think what Larry is trying to tell you is that your water is fine just the way it is. Generally speaking, a GH up to 60ppm is considered soft...60 to 100 or so is slightly hard and so on. Water coming out of an RO wil be down in the 10ppm range or lower

One of the main things that baby fish want is calcium for bone and scale development...that's very easily upped by adding a bit of calcium chloride...

G

pcsb23
10-29-2006, 12:55 PM
I do not know where this soft water = slow growth myth comes from. Frankly it is BS.

Poor husbandry = slow/poor growth.

lhforbes12
10-29-2006, 01:00 PM