PDA

View Full Version : Shopping Story - I stayed home!

Greg Richardson
11-24-2006, 05:27 PM
This bird not early enough to score best shopping deal
By Manuel Valdes

Seattle Times Eastside bureau

The deal seemed too good to be true: a laptop for $379. I paid about $1,500 for my last laptop, which was stolen from my car last year after I — trusting humanity a bit too much — left my windows down.

I'm a cash-strapped college student, so when my brother told me about this deal Best Buy was offering the day after Thanksgiving, I instantly became excited at the thought of once again being able to obsessively check email from anywhere.

But the day after Thanksgiving is the day when shoppers act like drought-stricken Wildebeest to a waterhole. It's crazy out there in the asphalt jungle.

Store manager Steve Starr told me on Wednesday all the hoopla over the new game consoles is small potatoes compared to this morning.

Starr also told me that in years past people began to show up at the store by 3 a.m., which is when the employees show up.

I decided to show up at Best Buy at 2 a.m. I mean, no one would be there earlier than that. People like would have to be crazy, right?

Er, fast forward to this morning.

2:19 a.m.: I'm pulling into the Best Buy parking lot in Bellevue and surprise! There's already a line snaking around the store to behind the loading area and toward the parking lot. Ugh. A rough estimate puts that around 300 cold noses.

2:25 a.m.: I went the front of the line to talk to the lucky ones holding the number one and two spots.

Their names were Shaw Horton and Adam Watts from Redmond. The two 16-year-olds started the line at 12:30 p.m., a full 16.5 hours before the store opens.

What about that perennial American holiday known as Thanksgiving? Did they miss it?

"I had a Thanksgiving lunch, you could say," Horton joked.

What did they want to buy so badly? Watts was determined to get a 32-inch High Definition TV.