PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Indiana

redbarontoys
11-30-2006, 09:10 PM
Hello, I guess this thread is a place to introduce myself so here goes. My name is Shawn and I'm just getting into Discus. My interests in the hobby started strangely enough with a desire for a train to go around my Christmas tree. I chose a large scale train for the detail and easier to handle parts. One thing always leads to another and soon my train was too big to fit in the house. The nice thing about large scale is that they are rated for outdoor use so my railroad went to the garden. Soon I decided that the railroad would be more interesting with a water feature so I dug a pond. Naturally the pond needed fish so I got into goldfish and koi. All new arrivals had to be quarantined since cleaning a pond is a huge task so I soon had a few quarantine aquariums. Once everyone was living happily in the pond I had all these aquariums set up with nothing in them. One became a tropical community tank, a couple others are housing baby goldfish, several are stocked with a variety of angels, one is a wild Amazon biotope, and the newest addition is a blackwater discus tank. I have done pretty well breeding the pond fish so I am planning to try breeding my wild scalare and maybe some cross breeding and see where it goes from there. Next time I decide to buy a train, would someone please slap me!

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n115/bflyjct/planted12.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n115/bflyjct/discus8.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n115/bflyjct/discus15.jpg

AADiscus
12-01-2006, 08:28 PM
Hi Red and welcome to Simply.

Looking at your discus they look a little young. You might want to think about taking the gravel out of their tank and having it bb for a while. What are you feeding them and what is your wc schedule for them? At this age they need lots of nutritional food and LOTS of wc's.

White Worm
12-01-2006, 09:34 PM