PDA

View Full Version : Few Questions for a new tank (and hobbyist)

tivar
12-28-2006, 07:09 PM
Hello everyone,
I am new to the new forum and live in Ann Arbor, Michigan. I have had a ten gallon aquarium before but got a 46 gallon bow front tank (36x16x20) for Christmas and Birthday (same day). It is in the process of cycling. When done, I have decided I want to make it a discus tank with a few other small fish to complement (tetras, BN pleco, cory's, etc). I got an Eheim Ecco 2235 (<80G tanks), a 200 W heater, and thanks to a suggestion on another thread, I just ordered a Eheim automatic feeder. My questions are as follows:

1. Do I need to add an aeration pump? I have got mixed information from people at LFS with them saying that the ripple across the water will be enough. If you think I do need one, which would you recommend? The loudness (or lack thereof) is really important.

2. I currently have the 25W flourescent light that came with the tank. Do you think I need additional light? (I do not have any plants). The aquarium looks dark currently but I think that will clear as the driftwood finishing releasing tannins.

3. If anyone is familiar with the Michigan or Northwest Ohio regions, could you suggests breeders or shops that have good quality discus and willing to provide advise? I have tried to access the breeders and dealers site on this forum but was unable.

Thanks for your help in advance. Hope everyone had a good holiday and wish a happy new years!

Tivar

pcsb23
12-28-2006, 07:16 PM
Hi Tivar, happy birthday and Christmas :) and welcome to Simply too.

If you are getting surface movement then you don't need an airstone in there, though if yopu want one it won't hurt.

Discus don't need light, provided you can see them ok once the water has cleared thast all that matters.

I'm not from the USA so can't help goegraphically, though I'm sure if you pm'd the sponsors you would get a positive result. They are the best place to start imo.

marilyn1998