PDA

View Full Version : Discus Hobbyist Hangs in the Balance...

Djinn
01-08-2007, 01:11 AM
Greetings all...
I am a resurrected fish hobbyist. Did several tanks in Highschool and also in college (mostly salt) but its been about 15 years now and I thought gee - why not do a nice little discus tank for the family? Well I am two weeks into cycling the tank and I was seriously intent on going with discus - but just don't know if that's going to happen now. So please if you can help answer some of my more mechanical questions.

First the setup: 35 gallon Hex tank, planted. I have running currently both an under gravel filter as well as a normal filter. I have it currently set at 82 degrees and am watching and waiting for my tank to mature with a couple of bleeding hearts providing all the waste materials to jump start it.

Now the questions:

1. My ph out of the tap is like 7.4... and I'm finding discus buffer is taking forever to drop the ph of the tank. I think I'm at like 7.0 or so right now but have been dropping oodles of the stuff (ok, exactly what the bottle recommends, no one freak) into the tank every day. Here's my question... I see that I need to do daily water changes... fine. But if it isn't cost effective and relatively easy to do day in and day out I'll just buy piranha and be done with it.

Anyone out there know of a simple and repetitive way to do water changes and get the water somewhere near where the discus want it to be every 24 hours? I've read all the posts about peet and drift wood - but would I also need to put them in my water setup place too? I don't want to introduce high ph water even if the drift and peet will take care of it... no?

2. Are bleeding hearts a bad idea with discus? Don't mind ditching them - I mean releasing them in the wild - if they aren't, but the LFS recommended them and now I'm wondering if they move to fast for Discus.