PDA

View Full Version : HELP Required Please ... My Discus breathing too fast !!!

NightWolf
01-17-2007, 04:32 AM
Hello everyone ...

this is the first post to me here ... i am new to the discus stuff but once i saw this fish i love it ... my aquarium setup as follows

150 liter planted aquarium aquarium ...
tempreture 28-30 celsius
its new tank ... 2 weeks old

i have 6 angles .. they are ok .. but alos breathing fast. ..
yesterday i bought 2 Small discus fishes ... 3 inch size and they start breathing very fast .. and they say at the top of the aquarium ... after couple of houres .. one of them dead :( ...
and today 1 left and still breathing fast .. but it goes down not on the surface .... yesterday i did water change for 50% of water .. unfortunatly i dont have any testing kit for water ...

PLEASE any hint or help regarding this issue will be very helpfulll .... puting in mind that i dont have a water testing kit

diamond_discus
01-17-2007, 04:39 AM
I am no expert on this .. but this happened to me this week ... my fish got infected with something .. they all stay at the top .. trying to catch a breath or something .. I did a 75% water change and use "Quick Cure". This seems to work for me ... The fishes were back to normal within 2 days. You can buy a small bottle of "Quick Cure" at Petco.

Other people might have better advice for you. Good luck

Kindredspirit
01-17-2007, 04:44 AM
Hi! I am sorry about your Discus ~ breathing fast and gasping for air at the top of the aquarium is def a water issue ~ you really shld try and get a test kit as to test your water parameters....

Did you add any water conditioner to your tank? Like Prime? I see you have plants but do you have additional air supply in the tank?

Marie ~ :)

NightWolf
01-17-2007, 04:51 AM
thanks for the replies ...

and i used chlorine removal .. i think the name is aqwa safe or something .. i dont remember and i use some bacteria cycling stuff to fasten the cycle of the aquarim as its new .....