PDA

View Full Version : New to Discus

Tolak
01-21-2007, 04:21 AM
Hey everyone, new to discus, but not to aquatics. A little background on me will probably help.

I’ve been breeding angels for a few years, have 18 tanks running with around 550 total gallons. I’ve got a few different pairs, and have sold several thousand of angels to shops, through auctions & swaps, and through brokers. I’ve also got some apistos, corys, & plecs breeding. My fishroom is set up with a centralized air system, most all the tanks are filtered by sponge & box filters. I’m on the board of the local aquarium society here in Chicago.

Through the club a couple other members & I were able to get a deal on sixty 2” discus from Majestic Aquatics out in southern California. I’ve got a bare bottomed 55 with cycled filters running with some breeder size angels in it, and plan on starting out the discus here. The angels will get moved to other tanks, the discus will have the tank to themselves. Daily water changes aren’t a problem, I have had a system for that in place for quite a while. Storage for aging water isn’t a problem either. My water is pretty hard, pH of 7.7, typical Chicago tap water. I’ve got some peat running in this tank, I can generally get a stable pH of 7.0 with peat.