PDA

View Full Version : So many questions, so many different answers.

wannabe68
01-24-2007, 12:30 PM
New to the forum and first post. Great forum, and I’ve looked at all of them.
Got bored last night, no football on the tube, and started reading a thread about one of the members just starting a new discus tank. The tread went forever and I was up til ?? when my wife woke up to find out if something was wrong with me. Finally, went to bed, and got up and couldn’t find the thread again. No biggy, many more to read.
As I was reading last night, I was making notes on all the “conflicting” information I have gotton from so many different sources. I’ve been keeping discus for about 6 months. Lost a couple, but all in all, doing pretty good. Am in the process of moving from a 42 gal to a 75 gallon. Maybe some of you could help me along, because I don’t think you ever become an expert on discus.
1. Water conditioners. I presently use Amquel Plus and Stress Coat. Have read enough to know that I am immediately changing to Prime. Is it really necessary to use Stress Coat in addition to Prime? Getting cost prohibitive. ( Currently have 5 tanks, going to six).
2. Unusual pH question. PH coming out of the tap is 7.6+++. Once it goes in the tank, pH registers 6.0 or less. Could that be combining Amquel Plus with stress coat? Or have I got other problems? I know discus like low PH, but that seems too low. The fish seem OK with it, but…….
3. I know discus require really clean water. I do W/C’s twice a week. I was reading that some of you feed 3-4 daily. I feed twice a day, and have temporarily cut back to once a day. Nitrates were rising. I’m a working man, and don’t have time to do a water change daily. For those of you feeding 3-4 times a day, how much are you feeding per meal? Can’t be much, or you are doing daily water changes. (I am not interested in breeding, just love to watch the discus.)