PDA

View Full Version : My first trio of discus :) How long can i keep them alive!

Danlee
02-10-2007, 01:55 AM
Hey all!

This is my first attempt at discus!

I bought 3 red melon discus on friday. They are about 7cm
Whether i pursue a discus tank depends on how long i manage to keep these new discus alive :)

I've got them in a 2 foot tank which i've painted 3 sides and bottom blue.
I have 2 large sponge filters in there. Have cycled the tank and the sponge filters are already established.

The Temp. is 29C

I'm just a little paranoid with them at the moment.

How long can they go without food?
I tried feeding them today with tetra bits to no success.

I put 6 cardinals with them to try get them to come out more and 2 albino bristlenoses.

They all hide when i approach the tank which is normal but i've noticed one of the discus hides in the corner with its fins clamped together while the other 2 dont clamp there fins and seem normal, i think its being bullied by the other 2 but there are no physical damage and i havent' really seen them chase it yet. Its the smallest one with the clamped fins. Is it sick?

I have seen them poo out white clearish poo. Is that normal? Its not abnormally long i'm like i said just paranoid.

Any help is much appreciated

Thanks
Dan

Danlee
02-10-2007, 02:09 AM
Here are a few pics to give you an idea

This is a pic of the tank (i covered the tank with the white towel on the first day to stress them less)
I swear theres 3 discus in there just the other 2 are hiding behind the filter :)

http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b371/aquariumsrus/My%20first%20discus/IMG_6388.jpg

3 pics of the smallest discus with the clamped fins
http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b371/aquariumsrus/My%20first%20discus/IMG_6390.jpg

http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b371/aquariumsrus/My%20first%20discus/IMG_6389.jpg

http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b371/aquariumsrus/My%20first%20discus/discuss1.jpg

Jeckel
02-13-2007, 01:45 PM
Danlee,