PDA

View Full Version : RO REGEN question

honeymonster
02-12-2007, 05:28 AM
Hi there,i have just starting using an Ro unit and wanted to use 100% RO for waterchanges etc.My tapwater is soft but loaded with Nasties,hence why i want to use 100% RO.My water comes out of the RO with a PH 6 and TDS of 0.I was going to use Joes[Enchanted]formula to raise the Gh to the desired level and Bicarb of soda to raise the KH/PH.Does anybody see a problem with this or is there a better method.Thanks

2RedTurqs
02-12-2007, 10:59 AM
I'm sure an expert will reply. I'm not an expert but I do use 100% RO in my discus tank because I don't trust the quality of the water right out of the tap. I add RO RIGHT to put minerals back into the water and about once a month I add some discus essentials . I also use baking soda to raize the KH. I don't worry about GH. I'm not sure if that is a good idea or not. My feelings are that I want the water to be stable so I raise the KH to be 3. My GH is actually lower, which confused me because GH is total hardness.

I have my RO unit hooked up to a storage barrel and heat and age the water in between water changes. I change water twice a week. On the weekend I do a 50% water change and on Wednesday I chage 20%.

That my routine hope it helps.

Dave

RandalB
02-12-2007, 11:15 AM
Hi there,i have just starting using an Ro unit and wanted to use 100% RO for waterchanges etc.My tapwater is soft but loaded with Nasties,hence why i want to use 100% RO.My water comes out of the RO with a PH 6 and TDS of 0.I was going to use Joes[Enchanted]formula to raise the Gh to the desired level and Bicarb of soda to raise the KH/PH.Does anybody see a problem with this or is there a better method.Thanks

I used that method with no problems for years...

RandalB

PDX-PLT
02-12-2007, 01:13 PM
My tapwater is soft but loaded with Nasties,hence why i want to use 100% RO.

What "nasties"? Is it potable? Well or municipal?