PDA

View Full Version : HIGH NITRATES FISH STRESSIN HELP!!!

Snuffy
02-14-2007, 07:48 AM
Hello Everyone

I woke up this morning to a dead cory cat and a discus laying on her side. When I turned the lights on the fish started to stress out and dash around the tank like crazy. Temp was good at 89D so i checked the water with a test kit and here is what i got 0 Ammonia 0 Nitite but my nitates are at 80ppm
What can be done to reduce this amount of nitrates? Im running a 400 emporer filter and A ehiem canister plus 3 large sponge filters on the tank. I added aquarium salt to help reduce stress and I turned up the amount of air in the take what else should I be doing? Im going to do a water change now and i hope by the time I get back to my computer an expert on the this site might have a fix for me . Thanks Everyone for reading my call for help.

Eric

FishLover888
02-14-2007, 10:39 AM
I'm no expert.

The only way to reduce nitrate quickly is water change. How big is your tank and how often do you change water? What is the bio load?

Do 40% at time, wait for few hours, do another 40%, then wait and monitor the nitrate. Keep doing the same thing till your nitrate is under 10, I would keep it under 5.

You may want to lower the temp a bit. I assume you meant 89F. That's a bit high. Keep it at 86F should be fine for most discus. Some people keep it lower than that too. I keep mine at 86F.

When there is a dead fish, ammo start to go up, then it go through the nitregen cycle and converted into nitrates. That could be the problem too. In most cases, nitrates build up means something like high bio load, or less water change was performed or over feeding.

Snuffy
02-14-2007, 01:48 PM
Thanks Fishlover