PDA

View Full Version : Setting up my new RO unit

gta333
02-24-2007, 11:00 AM
Im setting up my new RO unit today. It says that it works better if the input temp is 77 degrees. I was planning on tapping into my cold water line with a shut-off valve. But I know the temp is now where near 77 degrees. would I want to tap into both hot and cold lines and run them together and run to regulator so I can control the input temp. Im a electrician. Plumbling is something that I know just enough to get by. any advice out there. sorry if I sound like a complete idiot. have a great day. gary

steve.ryall
02-24-2007, 11:13 AM
Gary,

Think that the 77degrees is the optimum temperature to run your RO unit at. I am quite sure that no one I know has that temp from the mains. I certainly dont. Maybe if you live in a warmer part of the world your water would be warmer, in the UK it is COLD!!!
I would not worry about mixing hot and cold, more trouble than it is worth, plus an extra expence of heating the water too.

HTH

Steve

Polar_Bear
02-24-2007, 12:31 PM
I pretty much agree with Steve. Trying to mix your hot and cold water in the way you suggest probably wouldn't work well anyway, it would almost certainly be too hot then. Understand that 77F is optimal only, the unit will still work fine with colder water, just not as effeciently (you'll have more "waste" water is all)

gta333
02-24-2007, 01:00 PM
Thanks for the advice from you two. just got back from home depot going down and cut in a line right now. thanks gary

gta333
02-24-2007, 05:57 PM