PDA

View Full Version : Can Fish tank water make you sick??

OIF03VET
03-01-2007, 08:40 PM
Quick question, I sliced some skin of my finger today but have to clean my 65 gallon discus tank tonight. Should I be worried about bacteria or parasites entering my bloodstream?

Camden
03-01-2007, 08:43 PM
I clean my tank all the time with cuts and scraps never had a problem. I'm never like bleeding profusely into the tank though.

OIF03VET
03-01-2007, 08:51 PM
I wouldnt say I am bleeding profusely, just sort of oozing. The wound covers an area about the size of a pinky nail and is a little less than 1/16". Thanks for the quick response.

Graham
03-01-2007, 09:02 PM
Simple answer Yes....you may/can get worms if you get a mouth full of water, you can get bacterial infections, including a type of tuberculosis, a koi hobbyist died last year or the year before in the UK..........Now having said that...the odds of catching anything serious is extremely small...I've been doing this for 47 years and had some infections and worms as a kid but nothing serious....so don't worry about it

OIF03VET
03-01-2007, 09:06 PM
After reading that, I think I will get a long glove for that hand.

April
03-01-2007, 09:09 PM
well wear a glove if your worried. i went to a talk before from a agricultural fish vet. he said even if they have tuberculosis..all that would happen to us is if we had a cut it would get a bit red around the edges. worst it gets.

Wahter
03-01-2007, 09:21 PM