View Full Version : Aquascape help...please?

dragonlover
04-11-2007, 02:38 PM
Could anyone please help? All comments are welcome--especially constructive criticism!:) The before pic is the first one...my husband did not like the open area to the right, and the filter intake was harder for me to see and reach...so obviously not a good set up. Anyway, the second two pics are after remodel. I only had to move one corym by working around the plants.

Speaking of, the amazon is ???(who remembers?) years old--can't remember buying it and its been there years and years (just sold it's twin two months ago), but the rest of the plants are only 1-2 months in the tank. I am new to discus and lost all my lower temp plants...and my moneywort isn't looking so hot, either.

Working with four large brown driftwood and one large mopani. Would like to keep all in tank in my belief it softens my water somewhat (yeah, right.) Any other suggs to soften water without R/O or aging?

Please tell me if you can see ways for me to improve my aquascape. There will be a blue background...I promise...but I need to recruit the husband's help to hang. Thanks in advance. BTW, the streaks on back right of tank aren't streaks...it's a bubble bar, and no, my fish aren't all blurry in person either...sorry for terrible photography!

Edit: I added picture of how much tank progressed through the help given in this thread so far.

fishmama
04-11-2007, 04:16 PM
Hi Laura-

I'm no aquascapist by any stretch of the imagination, but I really love where you are going with this. Opening up the middle and balancing the sides works. I think the tank looks much better with the background off! Maybe some sort of low lying foreground cover would be nice.

Looks like the fish are settling in finally! Do you have many problems vacuuming the gravel when doing water changes with all those plants?

Lisa

dandestroy
04-11-2007, 04:33 PM